Albertus Magnus College Updates COVID-19 Policy

Masks Required Indoors on Campus

New Haven, Conn., August 2, 2021 –  Effective August 1, 2021, Albertus Magnus College is reinstating a mandatory indoor facemask policy on campus for all students, faculty, staff, and visitors, regardless of vaccination status.  This policy change is in direct response to guidance from Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont and New Haven Mayor Justin Elicker regarding increases in local area COVID-19 infection rates, in line with the CDC’s recently revised guidelines.

While this policy applies only to indoor areas on campus, please be vigilant when outdoors, avoid gathering in large groups, and maintain appropriate social distancing.  The COVID-19 Workgroup will continue to monitor the situation locally and will revisit policies as conditions change.

As Albertus President Dr. Camille reminded the Falcon Family in his recent video, the best protection against the COVID-19 virus is to be vaccinated, particularly with the increase of the Dela variant in this region.  For those who have not yet received their vaccination, please see the Albertus calendar for the next available clinic on campus provided by Griffin Health.  As a reminder, proof of immunization (or an approved exemption) is required for employment or to study on campus.

About Albertus Magnus College

About Albertus Magnus College: Albertus Magnus College, founded in 1925, is a Catholic College in the Dominican tradition. It is recognized by external rankings such as US News & World Report Best Colleges, Money Magazine, and the Wall Street Journal/Times Higher Education. The College has an enrollment of 1,500 students in its traditional undergraduate program, accelerated adult degree programs, and 12 graduate programs, including a new Master of Public Administration and the only Master of Arts in Art Therapy and Counseling program in Connecticut. In the last year, the College received two significant Federal grants in support of student success and well-being: a $300,000 grant from the Department of Justice and a $1.9 million Title III grant from the Department of Education.