Askew Named to NABC All-District Northeast First Team

Askew Named to NABC All-District Northeast First Team

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (March 13, 2012) Albertus Magnus men's basketball senior Ray Askew (Hamden, Conn.) has been named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Division III All-District Northeast First Team for his efforts during the 2011-12 season.

Askew, who was recently named to the All-Region First Team, led his Falcons to a 28-2 overall record, a Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC) title and the program's second-ever NCAA Tournament victory.

Askew became the all-time leading rebounder in GNAC and Albertus Magnus basketball history as he finished his career with 1,192 rebounds. On January 10, 2012, he became only the second-player ever to record over 1,000 rebounds in the conference, while on that date he also became the league's new rebounding leader.

With 2,316 career points, Askew became the Falcons' all-time scoring leader, while he was just the second men's basketball player in school history to score over 2,000 points.

Askew was named GNAC Player of the Year as well as GNAC Defensive Player of the Year for his efforts, while he averaged a team-best 24.2 points per game. He was named to both the All-Conference First Team as well as the GNAC All-Tournament Team en route to being named the tournament's Most Valuable Player.

Askew and the Falcons produced their most successful season in program history as they set a program-record as well as a conference record in wins in a single-season with 28. Albertus was ranked as high as 15th in the nation according to the Top-25 poll on Feb. 20, while the Falcons also received a ninth-place ranking in the Northeast on Feb. 22 by the NCAA.

The Hamden native finished his career shooting 51.1-percent from the floor, while he shot 68-percent from the free-throw line, a 728-of-1,071 showing. His attempts on the charity stripe also marked a GNAC record.

Askew was the only GNAC men's basketball player to earn a spot on the District team. Eastern Connecticut State University head coach Bill Geitner was named the Northeast Coach of the Year, while Western Connecticut's DaQuan Brooks was tagged as the Northeast District Player of the Year.